albertcuino.wordpress.com.cagsawa

In the previous centuries, this was the bell tower of a church near the foot of Mayon Volcano. I was told that the volcano exploded, spewed lava, and then caused rocks and molten material to cover the surrounding area, including the church, until all fell quiet.

The tower is all that remains today, which has become a famous destination, and is even featured on the back of the Php100 bill.

I’ve been asking myself why I chose this particular composition, when I could have included the volcano at the back, or make the tower as the anchor to all other elements in the photo. I’ve given much thought about it—yet all that is clear to my mind now is that I chose this because everything else has been done, and because I find the cloudless sky perfect for the background.

Leave a Reply

